Quick Hits: Grim Fandango Remastered

I missed this game when it originally came out but it always seems to get mentioned as a must-play game. I happened to see the remastered version pop up on the app store (for $1.99) and, after Twitter told me to buy it – I did just that.

In this game you take on the role of Manny Calavera, a grim reaper in the Land of the Dead, where something is not quite right. Your job is to figure out what’s going on by exploring, talking with various characters, and finding objects around the world.

Stylistically, it’s pretty cool. Think Dia de los Muertos meets film noir. The voice acting is pretty solid, especially for a game that’s almost 20 years old. The characters are interesting and well done and the story – at least early on – is decent. The music and sound are also good, so I definitely advise playing with the sound on

I’m having fun with it so far, although some of the objectives are pretty obtuse, leaving me wandering around not really knowing what I’m supposed to be doing to advance the story. I’ve turned to the walk through a couple of times to help steer me in the right direction, but it hasn’t really hurt my experience much yet.

I’d say, at $1.99, this is a must buy, even if you’ve already played it. I’m looking forward to spending more time in the Land of the Dead…

Leave a Reply

